Xbox One X?

xbx.jpg

I know what you must think. This is a Mac Blog, why are you writing about Microsoft hardware? To tell you the truth, I’m not sure. I guess I’m trying to talk myself into buying the new Xbox One X when it’s released this November, if you can even get your hands on one that is.

I used to be a gamer. I started with an Atari 2600, went to the Atari 8-bit computers. Then I got into the SNES (skipped the NES), then the Sony PS1, PS2, and PS3. Add to these the usual PC/Mac computer games, I don’t want to say I’ve seen it all, but I’ve seen a lot.

Q3.jpg

I’ve grown quite old (or at least feel it) and over the years I sort of ran out of free time and never kept up with it. I only occasionally turn on the PS3 for a game of football, golf, or a race around a track. I used to play Quake III Arena and Unreal Tournament. Those were the days – over 15 years ago (wow!).

I’ve tried my hand at the Call of Duty like games and just didn’t get the hang of them on a console. I did Halo and Halo 2 all the way through on single player, but again, that was a while ago. Can you believe that Halo came out almost 16 years ago? The story on how it came to be on the Xbox is very interesting. Essentially it was a game being written on the Mac for Macs from a very pro Mac company, Bungie. Check this out. And This.

Now back to the new soon to be released Xbox One X, which used to be called Scorpio. I’m not sure if this will replace the Xbox One S or if that will stay in the product lineup, but this new console packs quite a bit of entertainment in a small slim black plastic box. The starting price, according to Microsoft is $499. This will include the UHD HDR capable optical drive, 1TB of storage, and a new processor graphics card combination that should handle 4K gaming.

While I’m not excited about the gaming on the console as much as I want to see how good of an entertainment center this becomes. I don’t have a 4K TV just yet, but I’m thinking this holiday season 4K TVs are going to be super cheap. You’re currently not able to watch 4K TV shows over the air or even through your cable box, but content is available on the Internet. Plus, there are more titles being released on disc that you can play with the One X.

Check out these Xbox One X announcements for more info on the new high-end console and check back here to see if I give in to the dark side and get my first Xbox.

 

 

Leave a Reply

